WEC Energy Group (WEC)
Utilities reguladas — electricidad y gas natural combinados
Regulated utility holding company in Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan and Minnesota, with a ~60% stake in regional transmission company ATC: the Fairly valued reflects a wide-moat, stable utility with a $37.5bn capital plan through 2030 that sustains a mid-to-high single-digit EPS growth path, trading close to fair value —It trades close to intrinsic value, far from the required margin of safety.— with an estimated total return of +5% annually over 5 years, split between the dividend yield and modest price appreciation, in a business whose profitability (ROE ~12.2%) clears the 10% bar but not by a wide margin.
Moat Compounder estimates the intrinsic value of WEC Energy Group (WEC) at $109 per share on a five-year horizon. With the stock at $105.94 at 2026-09-04 close, the expected total return is 4.9% per year: fairly valued. The analysis draws on 10-K FY2025 and 8-K Q2 2026. Analysis dated 2026-08-04.
- Price
- $105.94
- Intrinsic value (5y, base)
- $109
- Total annual return (5y)
- 4.9%
- Status (nominal)
- Fairly valued
- Margin of safety
- +2%
The essentials
- Exclusive regulated franchise over 4.8 million electricity and gas customers across four states, with a wide, stable moat backed by cost-recovery mechanisms.
- $37.5bn capital plan (2026-2030) and reaffirmed 2026 EPS guidance of $5.51-$5.61, with additional optional growth from data-center customers (VLC) still without a firmly approved tariff.
- Return on capital (~12.2% ROE) above the 10% bar but without a wide margin; +5% annually over 5 years, It trades close to intrinsic value, far from the required margin of safety..
Intrinsic value — two valuation methods
Total return at 5 years: 4.9%/year = 0.6% appreciation + 4.3% dividend. The target price ($109) is ex-dividend; the $23 in dividends collected over 5 years are added separately.
By both methods, the value today (DCF $157 · Multiples $108) exceeds the market price ($106).
Pillars of the analysis
The verdict — today vs 5 years
Today — fairly valued: at $106 trades ~1.7% below its value discounted to today (~$108); the discount is positive but does not reach the margin of safety we require (≥38%).
At 5 years — En valor: the target price ($109) plus dividends yield between the 4% floor and the 10% average return — a reasonable return, though without the margin of a great investment.
The bridge: the return at 5 years exceeds the risk-free rate (4.5%) — but the discount does not reach the required margin of safety (≥38%). To require a 15% annual return, it would need to be bought at ~$69.
Thesis
The business
WEC Energy Group is a solidly high-quality regulated electricity and natural gas utility: a wide, stable moat, return on capital (~12.2% average ROE on common equity) above the 10% bar, and a $37.5bn capital plan through 2030 that sustains guided mid-to-high single-digit EPS growth. Concentration in the Wisconsin segment (71% of operating income) and dependence on timely regulatory approvals are the main nuances in an otherwise predictable business.
The valuation
Valued on P/E over net income attributable to common shareholders, with a base-case exit multiple of 17.0x — within the [15x,18x] band of the utility archetype — applied to projected earnings growing from $1.69bn (TTM) to $2.39bn in year 5. The result is a Fairly valued with a 5-year value of approximately US$$109 per share.
The margin of safety
Against the market price of $105.94, the estimated 5-year total return (price appreciation plus dividend, via IRR) is +5% annually in the base case. It trades close to intrinsic value, far from the required margin of safety. The safety margin against the adverse scenario is moderate: the bear case, which stresses regulatory approval of the capital plan, yields a substantially lower return.
What to watch
The key disconfirming factor is regulatory execution of the $37.5bn capital plan: if a state regulator disallows a material portion of costs — as already happened with the $205.0M PGL/NSG charge in 2025 — both rate-base growth and guided EPS suffer. Also worth tracking is progress on VLC tariffs (Bespoke Resources Tariff) for data-center customers, which are the main growth optionality above what is guided.
Educational / informational. Does not constitute investment advice.
Valuation by multiples
The multiple is applied to the metric per share (EPS / Core FFO): that metric already reflects the evolution of the share count (buybacks or issuance), so the share count does not enter as a separate step. The implied equity (~$35.9 bn) is the metric carried to the equivalent of today's share count — the detail is in the piece's (i).
Discounted cash flow to present value (DCF)
TTM net income attributable to common shareholders (equity-level: already net of interest, taxes and preferred dividends; it is the owner earnings of a regulated business, not a pre-interest flow). as the base. Move the assumptions: the value recalculates live. The verdict remains anchored by multiples; the DCF contrasts it at present value.
Risk does not inflate the rate: protection is required separately, as a margin of safety over the value. The floor avoids discounting at the pace of a depressed market rate.
| Year | Projected FCF | Discount factor | Present value |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1.8 bn | 0.957 | $1.7 bn |
| 2 | $1.9 bn | 0.916 | $1.8 bn |
| 3 | $2.1 bn | 0.876 | $1.8 bn |
| 4 | $2.2 bn | 0.839 | $1.9 bn |
| 5 | $2.4 bn | 0.802 | $1.9 bn |
Reverse DCF — what growth the price discounts
The inverse approach: instead of projecting growth to obtain the value, the market price ($106) is taken as given and it solves for what annual owner-earnings growth would need to hold for 5 years for the present value —at the method's rate (4.5%, no-growth terminal)— to equal that price. It is the disconfirmation test: the expectations the price already pays for, contrasted against the method's projection.
The market discounts less growth (-1.6%/year) than we project (7.1%/year) → if the base case holds, there is margin: perception is more pessimistic than the estimated reality.
That growth implies ~$1.6 bn of owner earnings in year 5 (vs ~$2.4 bn of our base case). It recalculates if the DCF assumptions are edited.
Year-by-year model — utility (equity)
A regulated utility is valued on P/E over adjusted earnings (equity-level): the value sits in the regulated base (rate base), which grows with capex at an allowed ROE. GAAP can be depressed by the mark-to-market of hedges → the adjusted figure is used. It returns capital via dividend (a dividend aristocrat); it may issue some equity to fund capex. Total return adds the dividend collected along the way. In edit mode, the metric, shares, dividend, and exit multiple can be adjusted.
| US$ bn / per share | TTM | +1a | +2a | +3a | +4a | +5a |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operation (editable: metric, shares) | ||||||
| Utilidad neta atribuible ($bn) | 1.692 | 1.83 | 1.971 | 2.113 | 2.253 | 2.388 |
| growth | — | +8% | +8% | +7% | +7% | +6% |
| ROE ganado (patrimonio común) | 12.2% | 12.3% | 12.3% | 12.3% | 12.3% | 12.1% |
| Base regulada de activos ($bn) | 39.8 | 42.6 | 45.6 | 48.8 | 52.2 | 55.9 |
| EPS | $5.14 | $5.43 | $5.70 | $5.97 | $6.20 | $6.42 |
| Shareholder return (dividend + buyback) | ||||||
| Dividend / share | 3.81 | 4.058 | 4.322 | 4.603 | 4.902 | 5.221 |
| Payout (div / metric) | 74% | 75% | 76% | 77% | 79% | 81% |
| Shares (M) | 328.9 | 337.1 | 345.6 | 354.2 | 363.1 | 372.2 |
| Multiples at today's price (equity, no EV) — how they compress | ||||||
| P/E (price / per share) | 20.6x | 19.5x | 18.6x | 17.8x | 17.1x | 16.5x |
| Value curve (per share × P/E exit multiple by year) | ||||||
| Value / share | — | $98 | $103 | $107 | $109 | $109 |
| Total return vs price | — | (-4%) | (+2%) | (+5%) | (+5%) | (+5%) |
WEC Energy Group is valued at the equity level (P/E on net income attributable to common shareholders), like every regulated utility. Year 0 is the TTM as of Jun 30, 2026 ($1.6915bn), taken from "NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic" — already net of preferred dividends. Year 1 anchors to reaffirmed 2026 EPS guidance ($5.51-$5.61, midpoint $5.56) from the Jul 29, 2026 8-K, which together with the actual H1 2026 result (diluted EPS $3.36) implies ~8.2% growth for the first year of the rolling window, decaying smoothly to 6.0% by year 5 — at the top of the 3-6% band for a mature utility, sustained by the $37.5bn 2026-2030 capital plan ($33.4bn across the regulated utilities plus $4.1bn from WEC's stake in ATC). Shares grow ~2.5%/year across the three scenarios (the same path, per §6): the company funds part of its capital plan through ongoing common stock issuance (dilution), not buybacks — a revealed trend from 316.1M diluted shares in FY2022 to 328.9M in the most recent quarter. The dividend starts at the declared current rate ($3.81 annualized, following the 6.7% increase in January 2026) and grows ~6.5% annually in the base case, in line with the company's historical pace (FY22-FY25: +7.2%, +7.1%, +6.9%). The exit multiple (17.0x base) sits in the upper half of the [15x,18x] band for the utility archetype, reflecting a return on capital (~12.2% average ROE) moderately above the 10% bar and terminal growth at the top of the typical range, tempered by growth concentration in a small number of data-center customers (VLC) still without a firmly approved tariff.
Today's multiple compresses on its own going forward as the metric per share grows. The exit multiple at 3 years is higher than the terminal at 5 years —at 3 years there is more growth still ahead—. Total return adds the dividend collected; the required return is applied to the base scenario.
Scenarios (bear / base / bull) — at 5 years
Value sensitivity
Value per share by growth scenario (rows) and the compression or expansion of the exit multiple (columns). The color shows whether it beats the required return.
| Growth ↓ / Multiple → | Compression−15% | Base multiple | Expansion+15% |
|---|---|---|---|
| BearStresses year 1 to just 3.0% (versus 8.2% in the base case) · base 14.0x — below the floor of the base [15x,18x] band; the adjustment lives in the adverse scenario, not the base case (§2). | $66 -3.8% | $77 -1.1% | $89 1.3% |
| BaseStarts at 8.2% (year 1) · base 17.0x — upper half of the [15x,18x] band for the utility archetype, for a return on capital (~12.2% ROE) moderately above the 10% bar and terminal growth at the top of the typical range. | $93 2.0% | $109 4.9% · base case | $125 7.5% |
| BullStarts at 10.0% assuming the VLC contracts are approved sooner and on better terms than guided · base 19.0x, slightly above the top of the [15x,18x] band for the additional structural growth from VLCs. | $111 5.3% | $131 8.3% | $151 11.1% |
Multiples — today
High today = growth is being paid for; they cheapen toward 3 and 5 years (see Projections).
Forward multiples
With today's price fixed and the metric growing, what multiple is being paid at 3 and 5 years. Today's high multiple is the price of growth: if the business grows, the entry multiple cheapens on its own.
Optionalities
They are valued separately, with their own rationale, and are not incorporated into the base or the verdict (they are excess return). When assigning them value — in Editmode —, the total with optionalities updates live, without moving the base.
The verdict, the base CAGR, and the margin of safety are always calculated on the base; optionalities do not alter them (with optionalities at $0 they do not move).
Maximum price to pay today — by required return
Each card fixes a required annual return and answers: if the business is worth $109 in 5 years, what is the maximum that can be paid today to obtain that return? Since it now trades at $106, the margin of safety is how much cheaper the market is than that maximum. The three thresholds: 4% covers inflation (the floor), 10% is the long-term average return, and 15% is the level of a great investment.
Return and margin of safety calculator
The maximum price to pay today to earn the required return, with the dividend collected as a separate flow. Both controls are editable.
With a target price of $109 in 5 years plus $23 of dividends collected (the dividend adds to the return, not to the price) and a required return of 4.5% annually, the maximum to pay today is $108. Against the current market price ($106), the margin of safety is 1.7% (trades below the maximum → there is margin) and the total return at that price would be 4.9% annually.
Valuation quality
- Multiple within band. 17.0x base-case P/E, in the upper half of the [15x,18x] range for the utility archetype.
- Moderate total return. +5% annually estimated in the base case, split between the dividend yield and modest price appreciation.
- Limited margin of safety. It trades close to intrinsic value, far from the required margin of safety.
ROIC vs the 10% bar — the compounding engine
The quality bar — return bands
The return on capital is judged against absolute bands; the value-creation floor is the market's opportunity cost (~10%). A stock's volatility does not measure business risk.
ROE 12% → good (10-15%). The bar is a measure of business quality, not the method's discount rate: value is discounted to today at the risk-free rate, and protection is required separately, as a margin of safety.
Owner earnings — the waterfall
It charges maintenance capex (which EBITDA does not deduct). The growth capex ($1.7 bn) is voluntary and is not charged to the base — it depresses FCF today, creates value tomorrow.
Cash & reinvestment
Margins — trajectory
Each margin over sales, year by year: historical (solid line) → projection (dotted).
Owner earnings — the detail
Business quality
- ✓ ROIC exceeds the cost of capital (~10%)
- ✓ CFROIC backs up the ROIC (100%, cash vs. accruals)
- ✓ Healthy balance sheet (low corporate debt)
- ✓ Durable competitive moat (multiple advantages)
Quality — cash · ROIC · reinvestment
- Return on capital above the bar. Average ROE ~12.2% on common equity, above the 10% bar though without a wide margin.
- Consistent but tight cash generation. TTM operating cash flow of $3.57bn, though reported FCF is barely positive ($0.33bn) due to capex from the plan.
- Low, potentially non-recurring effective tax rate. The TTM effective rate of 7.1% is below the recent historical average (~12-13%); it could normalize upward.
Revenue trajectory
Values in US$ bn. The % over each bar is the year-over-year (YoY) growth — each year, historical and projected, vs the prior one (the TTM vs the TTM from a year ago). The path comes from the same source as the table; years without their own series in the model are interpolated between the anchors. Historical solid, projection in a lighter shade.
Where the growth comes from · by segment
Weight in revenue and year-over-year (YoY) growth, in reported USD.
Weighted by operating income (at the segment net-income level) for FY2025. Wisconsin is the engine (71% of the weight, +15.8% operating income growth); Illinois shows a -51.6% decline in segment net income, but it is entirely explained by the $205.0M pre-tax PGL/NSG settlement charge and does not represent deterioration in the underlying business.
Growth engine — operating drivers
Annual levels from the official filing (10-K); the % over each bar is the year-over-year (YoY) growth vs the prior year.
WEC's economic driver is the regulated asset base (net plant) multiplied by the return on capital authorized by each regulator: every dollar of approved capex translates, with the regulatory lag inherent to a rate case, into future revenue and earnings. The jump in capex from FY2024 to FY2025 (+58.2%) anticipates the pace of the 2026-2030 plan and is the best leading indicator of net income growth, more reliable than reported revenue, which is distorted by pass-through fuel cost and weather.
Projections
| Metric | FY23 | FY24 | FY25 | TTM | +1A | +2A | +3a | +4A | +5a |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue | $8.9 bn | $8.6 bn (-3%) | $9.8 bn (+14%) | $10.1 bn (+9%) | $10.7 bn (+5%) | $11.2 bn (+5%) | $11.8 bn (+5%) | $12.3 bn (+4%) | $12.9 bn (+4%) |
Operating income | $1.9 bn | $2.2 bn (+13%) | $2.2 bn (+4%) | $2.3 bn (+9%) | $2.4 bn (+6%) | $2.6 bn (+6%) | $2.7 bn (+6%) | $2.9 bn (+5%) | $3 bn (+5%) |
Net income attributable | $1.3 bn | $1.5 bn (+14%) | $1.6 bn (+2%) | $1.7 bn (+9%) | $1.8 bn (+8%) | $2 bn (+8%) | $2.1 bn (+8%) | $2.2 bn (+6%) | $2.4 bn (+6%) |
Free cash flow | $1.7 bn | $1.9 bn (+14%) | $2.1 bn (+11%) | $2.2 bn (+9%) | $2.3 bn (+6%) | $2.4 bn (+6%) | $2.5 bn (+6%) | $2.7 bn (+5%) | $2.8 bn (+5%) |
Dividend per share | 3.1x | 3.3x (+7%) | 3.6x (+7%) | 3.7x (+10%) | 4.1x (+7%) | 4.3x (+7%) | 4.6x (+7%) | 4.9x (+6%) | 5.2x (+7%) |
The % are the annual (year-over-year) growth: each year —historical and projected— vs the prior one; the TTM (trailing 12m) vs the TTM of a year ago, to avoid overlapping windows. The historicals are exact figures from the official filings; the projected years come from the year-by-year model (the intermediate years without their own series are interpolated between the anchors). The projected columns (+1y…+5y) are 12-month windows counted from the TTM close (30-jun-2026): the projection starts from the most recently reported data, not the fiscal year. The projected base is realistic and unbiased — the risk discount is applied at the end, via the required return. The rationale for each metric is in the (i).
Growth quality
- Robust capital plan. $37.5bn 2026-2030 in regulated and transmission investment, with reaffirmed EPS guidance.
- Growth almost entirely organic. Minor recent acquisitions (Hardin Solar, $406.1M in 2025); growth comes almost entirely from own capex.
- Regulatory lag. The return on invested capital depends on regulators approving rates in a timely manner; there has already been a partial cost disallowance in Illinois.
Moat strength
The business and its moat
What it does and how it makes money
WEC Energy Group charges regulated rates on a $39.83bn net plant asset base (electricity, gas distribution, transmission), compensated by a return on capital authorized by each state regulator (Public Service Commission of Wisconsin, Illinois ICC, Michigan MPSC and Minnesota MPUC) and by FERC for the stake in ATC. TTM operating revenue totals $10.14bn: $5.55bn electric and $3.96bn natural gas. The Wisconsin segment dominates, contributing 71% of consolidated operating income, followed by unregulated energy infrastructure (16%), Illinois (10%) and Other States (4%).
The generation mix combines coal (30.5% in 2025, being retired toward 2032), natural gas (32.8%), owned and purchased renewables (9.9%) and purchased nuclear power under contract (19.8%, mainly Point Beach). Additional structural growth comes from negotiations with a small number of Very Large Customers (VLC, large-scale data centers), whom the company seeks to charge for dedicated infrastructure in full through proposed tariffs with a 10.48%-10.98% ROE and a 57.0% equity capital structure.
Scale and competitive position
WEC owns 8,375 MW of owned generation capacity and serves an exclusive franchise territory across four states. Its ~60% stake in American Transmission Company (ATC), accounted for under the equity method, is a FERC-regulated regional transmission asset with high regulatory barriers to entry. WECI, the unregulated energy infrastructure arm, holds 82.6%-90.0% stakes in 12 wind and solar facilities with 10- to 22-year power offtake contracts.
The 2026-2030 capital plan includes 1,228 MW of additional approved natural gas (plus 1,660 MW requested), 955 MW of approved solar (plus 1,333 MW requested) and 411 MW of approved battery storage (plus 212 MW requested) in the Wisconsin segment, largely to serve VLC customers. As a regulated monopoly, WEC does not compete for captive residential customers, though it faces competition from distributed self-generation and alternative gas suppliers for transportation customers.
The moat: why it is costly to compete
WEC's moat is that of any regulated utility: an exclusive distribution franchise (indeterminate permits in Wisconsin, municipal franchises in Michigan) granting service exclusivity within the territory, backed by a $52.75bn asset base that is extremely costly to replicate (distribution and transmission networks, 38.8 Bcf of gas storage fields in Illinois and 2.9 Bcf in Michigan). Cost-recovery mechanisms (GCRM for gas, fuel rules for electricity, revenue decoupling at PGL/NSG/MERC) reduce revenue variability against weather and volume, and the 10- to 22-year power purchase contracts at WECI give revenue visibility in the unregulated portion.
The ~60% stake in ATC adds a second regulatory moat: regional electric transmission across four states has high barriers to entry and rates set by FERC, not by market competition.
Moat direction and threats
The moat is classified as stable: it is a long-standing regulated monopoly whose width does not change year to year, and there is no evidence of a widening unit-economics gap (the "widening" standard requires that positive evidence, not simply the size of the business). The main structural threats are regulatory: rate-approval lag already produced a $205.0M charge in 2025 from the settlement with the Illinois attorney general over PGL/NSG, which included a permanent $130.0M reduction to the rate base starting in 2027 and $75.0M in customer refunds between 2026 and 2028.
Another threat is the concentration of growth in a small number of VLC customers before securing a firmly approved tariff, and the risk that a federal executive order instructing certain coal plants to remain operational could clash with the company's retirement plan through 2032 and its carbon-neutrality target for 2050.
Business / sector quality
- Exclusive regulated franchise. Monopoly service within the territory, with no direct competition for captive customers.
- Revenue tied to fuel costs. A large share of year-over-year revenue variation reflects fuel pass-through, not clean underlying growth.
- Single-segment concentration. Wisconsin contributes 71% of consolidated operating income; the rest are smaller-scale pieces.
- Structural data-center demand. Negotiations with VLC customers could add rate-base growth above guidance, though without a firmly approved tariff yet.
Solvency margin
Each pillar between danger and solid — the further right, the more room.
Reading for a regulated utility: it runs high leverage (5-7×) backed by a rate base that earns an allowed ROE and an investment-grade rating — it is not judged by an industrial company's thresholds. EBIT/interest coverage is thin by design (lots of cheap debt); EBITDA/interest coverage is higher.
Net cash position
In a regulated utility, debt is backed by a rate base that earns an allowed ROE and an investment-grade rating — it is low-cost funding for a regulated-return asset, not a vulnerability. High leverage is structural and healthy.
Debt composition
Not all debt is equal: only the structural needs refinancing; the rest is operational (self-liquidating).
Structural debt is what is exposed to the contraction phase of the cycle; operational debt (leases, matched funding) self-liquidates with the business.
Company health / solvency
- ✓Regulated return (earned vs allowed ROE)Earns 12.2% vs allowed 10.0%
- !Value creation (allowed ROE − 10% bar)-0.0pp
- !Leverage (net debt / EBITDA)5.9x · Investment grade assumed from the company's continued access to debt and equity markets; the specific rating is not disclosed in the filings incorporated into this record.
- ✓Predictability (% regulated + rate-base growth)84% regulated · rate base +$7.5 bn/year
A traffic-light interpreted by the method (not generic): float (negative WC) adds up, capex is judged by incremental ROIC (malinvestment test), and a lender is not subjected to corporate solvency. The (i) shows the derivation of each number.
Health — balance sheet risks
- Elevated leverage, typical of the sector. Net debt/EBITDA ~5.9x, consistent with a utility in a high-capex phase.
- Regulatory capital structure. Common equity ratio ~51.5%, within the structures approved (50-53%) by regulators.
- Credit rating not verified in filings. Investment grade assumed from continued access to debt and equity markets; the specific rating is not disclosed in the incorporated filings.
- Minimal cash. Only $50.0M of cash at quarter-end — typical of a utility that manages liquidity through credit lines, not excess cash.
Who runs it
- Scott Lauber became CEO in 2023 after having been the company's chief financial officer, providing continuity to the prior management's financial discipline.
- The 12-member board stands for full annual election (one-year terms), with no staggered classes.
- The company funds its capital plan through a combination of debt, internal operating cash flow and ongoing common stock issuance — it does not buy back shares.
Capital allocation — indicators
Shares — ownership and dilution
Who owns the shares — the alignment and whether there is a controlling shareholder.
Dilution transfers value from the shareholder to the employee each year — watch that it does not erode value per share.
Management / capital allocation
- Executive continuity. Scott Lauber was CFO before becoming CEO in 2023, providing continuity to prior financial discipline.
- Low insider ownership. Directors and executives as a group own just 0.46% of shares — no meaningful skin in the game.
- Funding via share issuance. The capital plan is funded in part through ongoing stock issuance, diluting existing shareholders by ~2.5%/year.
Why it trades at this price
- There is no evidence of motivated sellers: the stock trades ~11% below its 52-week high, a moderate decline rather than a collapse suggesting panic or a specific negative catalyst.
- The market appears to pay a reasonable multiple for the visibility of the regulated capital plan and reaffirmed 2026 EPS guidance, with no obvious perception-reality gap.
- No clear source of missing buyers or motivated sellers is identified: the current price reasonably reflects the value of a solid but not exceptional regulated business.
It trades close to intrinsic value, far from the required margin of safety. With no clear edge identified, the expected return comes mainly from rate-base growth and the growing dividend, not from a multiple re-rating.
Return asymmetry — risk/reward
The annual return (CAGR at 5 years) in each scenario, with the total period return below — the margin of safety made visual: upside range wide, downside range narrow.
Even in the bear scenario, the return holds at -1%/year (-5% total): the margin of safety protects the downside. The bull (+8%/year, +49% total) exceeds it comfortably — a favorable asymmetry, with a narrow downside range and a wide upside range.
Bear case — disconfirmation
- Illinois or Wisconsin regulators could deny full cost recovery on the $37.5bn capital plan, replicating the cost disallowance already suffered by PGL/NSG ($205.0M charge in 2025).
- Infrastructure projects for VLC customers could be cancelled or scaled back if AI data-center demand slows, leaving assets without full tariff recovery.
- A federal executive order requiring certain coal plants to remain operational could clash with the retirement plan through 2032 and raise the cost of environmental compliance.
- Funding the capital plan through ongoing stock issuance (~2.5%/year dilution) could accelerate if the cost of debt rises, compressing earnings-per-share growth.
Bull case — the thesis for
- VLC contracts are approved on the proposed terms (10.48%-10.98% ROE, 57.0% equity ratio), adding rate-base growth above guidance.
- Execution of the $37.5bn capital plan is completed on budget and on schedule, avoiding regulatory cost disallowances.
- The sustained dividend increase (+6.7% in 2026) continues without pause, reflecting management's confidence in regulated cash flow.
- The ATC stake grows faster than guided ($4.1bn 2026-2030) on regional transmission demand tied to electrification.
Risks — what breaks the base case
- Regulatory lag. Profitability depends on regulators approving rates that recover costs and a reasonable ROE; there has already been a cost disallowance in Illinois ($205.0M in 2025).
- Concentration in VLC customers. Significant infrastructure investment for a small number of data-center customers before a firmly approved tariff is in place.
- Environmental compliance and coal retirement. Rising compliance costs and a federal executive order that could force certain coal plants to remain operational despite the retirement plan.
- Capital plan execution. Risk of cost overruns and delays on a $37.5bn plan, with possible regulatory disallowance of the excess.
- Cybersecurity. Interconnected critical infrastructure exposed to attack attempts, with remediation costs not always recoverable in rates.
Lenses — the value investing thinkers
Each thinker's analytical framework applied to our data.
Full alignment: both the business and the price work in your favor.
- Buffett / Graham Quality + margin of safety
A wide moat and ROE 12% above the 10% bar, but the margin is limited (+2%) → excellent business at a fair price.
- Peter Lynch Growth at a reasonable price (GARP)
A stalwart growing 7% at a PEG of 2.9 → expensive for its growth.
- Joel Greenblatt Cheap and high-return (Magic Formula)
Not applicable — the Magic Formula excludes financials and regulated businesses (EBIT/EV does not capture the operating leverage).
- Howard Marks Perception vs reality + cycle
The price discounts -2% vs our 7%: perception is more pessimistic than reality, with an identified source of the discount.
- Seth Klarman Capital protection (bear scenario)
Bear-scenario floor -6%/yr, bull-scenario ceiling +4%/yr over 5y: reasonable asymmetry, without an ample cushion.
- Pat Dorsey Moat strength (Five Rules)
A wide moat, stable; sources: intangibles, efficient scale, cost advantage, switching costs → passes the Five Rules.
- Aswath Damodaran Expectations implied by the price
Justifying the price requires discounting -2%, within what we project (7%) — the story squares with the numbers.






