Banco Macro (BMA)
Servicios financieros — banca universal (Argentina)
An Argentine bank with a regulatory capital surplus of Ps. 4.1 trillion and a delinquency rate that tripled in a year trades at 13× on normalized earnings: if return on equity holds near the 13% already shown in the last reported quarter, the estimated return is +17% annually and the verdict is Very undervalued.
Moat Compounder estimates the intrinsic value of Banco Macro (BMA) at $153 per share on a five-year horizon. With the stock at $78.35 at 2026-09-09 close, the expected total return is 17.0% per year: very undervalued. The analysis draws on 20-F fiscal year 2025 and 6-K second-quarter 2026 results. Analysis dated 2026-08-19.
- Price
- $78.35
- Intrinsic value (5y, base)
- $153
- Total annual return (5y)
- 17.0%
- Status (nominal)
- Very undervalued
- Margin of safety
- +42%
The essentials
- Attributable net income for fiscal year 2025 was Ps. 289.5 billion and return on equity 5.55%, against 32.63% in 2023: the compression is disinflation stripping the inflationary component out of gains on government securities and foreign-currency results, while the net interest margin grew 44.5% in real terms; it is not a loss of business.
- The second quarter of 2026 delivered an average return on equity of 13.4% reported and 14.3% excluding Ps. 21.9 billion of restructuring charges, with net income 39% above the prior quarter.
- The regulatory capital surplus is Ps. 4.1 trillion over a requirement of Ps. 1.69 trillion, with a capital adequacy ratio of 28% and the same level for Tier 1 capital; the company itself states that its goal is to put that surplus to its best use.
- Delinquency on total financing rose from 2.06% to 6.25% in a year and the consumer portfolio's delinquency reached 8.42%, with coverage of the non-performing portfolio at 95.39%; it is the central disconfirmer of the thesis.
- The restructuring plan closed 89 branches and cut headcount 8% in a year, to 402 branches and 8,180 employees, with the efficiency ratio at 33.9%.
Intrinsic value — two valuation methods
Total return at 5 years: 16.9%/year = 14.4% appreciation + 2.6% dividend. The target price ($153) is ex-dividend; the $14 in dividends collected over 5 years are added separately.
By both methods, the value today (DCF $273 · Multiples $135) exceeds the market price ($78).
Pillars of the analysis
The verdict — today vs 5 years
Today — with margin of safety: at $78 trades ~41.9% below its value discounted to today (~$135) — the wide discount we require (≥38%, equivalent to a ~15% annual return); the risk is covered by the margin, not the rate.
At 5 years — Muy infravalorado: the target price ($153) plus dividends yield above the required average return (10%) — the business compounds.
The bridge: the return at 5 years comfortably exceeds the risk-free rate (4.5%) — and the discount reaches the required margin of safety.
Thesis
The business
An Argentine universal bank with Ps. 13,690.6 billion of deposits at fiscal year-end, a capital adequacy ratio of 28% and a regulatory surplus of Ps. 4.1 trillion, that is, 243% above the requirement. Reported earnings fell from a return on equity of 32.63% in 2023 to 5.55% in 2025 for two distinct reasons: disinflation, which strips the inflationary component out of the net interest margin, and a credit cycle that pushed delinquency from 2.06% to 6.25% in a year.
The valuation
Equity is valued by normalized earnings and a multiple, the method for the bank archetype: deposits are funding and are not subtracted again. The normalized base of Ps. 628.1 billion comes from applying a return on equity of 12.0% to closing equity, between the 11.3% annualized in the first half of 2026 and the 14.3% the company itself reports for the adjusted second quarter. At the market price that implies 13×.
The margin of safety
There is a margin of safety: the market's perception is meaningfully worse than reality. The base-case target price is $153 per ADR against a market price of $78, and the estimated return is +17% annually: +14% from price and +3% from dividends. The exit multiple of 7× is practically the entry multiple, so the return does not depend on the market paying more for the same thing but on earnings growth and the payout.
What to watch
Delinquency. It rose from 2.06% to 6.25% of total financing in a year, the consumer figure reached 8.42%, and coverage of the non-performing portfolio fell to 95.39%, below the 100% threshold at which every new peso of delinquency requires additional provisioning. If the deterioration continues instead of peaking, the normalized earnings of Ps. 628.1 billion are too high and the adverse scenario is the correct one.
Educational / informational. Does not constitute investment advice.
Valuation by multiples
The model is stated in currency of 31-dic-2025, the fiscal year-end the company restates to under IAS 29, while the price is today's. Without restatement the conversion would strip out the inflation between those two dates. The 1.1685 factor is not an estimate: it is the ratio between two presentations of the same cut. What it does not cover — inflation since 30-jun-2026, which no filing lets us derive yet — is left out, so the return is a floor by that amount.
The multiple is applied to the metric per share (EPS / Core FFO): that metric already reflects the evolution of the share count (buybacks or issuance), so the share count does not enter as a separate step. The implied equity (~ARS 13,278 bn) is the metric carried to the equivalent of today's share count — the detail is in the piece's (i).
Discounted cash flow to present value (DCF)
Normalized net income to common (Ps. billion, December 2025 currency) as the base. Move the assumptions: the value recalculates live. The verdict remains anchored by multiples; the DCF contrasts it at present value.
Risk does not inflate the rate: protection is required separately, as a margin of safety over the value. The floor avoids discounting at the pace of a depressed market rate.
| Year | Projected earnings | Discount factor | Present value |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ARS 703.5 bn | 0.957 | ARS 673.2 bn |
| 2 | ARS 787.9 bn | 0.916 | ARS 721.5 bn |
| 3 | ARS 882.4 bn | 0.876 | ARS 773.3 bn |
| 4 | ARS 988.3 bn | 0.839 | ARS 828.8 bn |
| 5 | ARS 1,106.9 bn | 0.802 | ARS 888.3 bn |
Reverse DCF — what growth the price discounts
The inverse approach: instead of projecting growth to obtain the value, the market price ($78) is taken as given and it solves for what annual owner-earnings growth would need to hold for 5 years for the present value —at the method's rate (4.5%, no-growth terminal)— to equal that price. It is the disconfirmation test: the expectations the price already pays for, contrasted against the method's projection.
The market discounts less growth (-14.8%/year) than we project (12.0%/year) → if the base case holds, there is margin: perception is more pessimistic than the estimated reality.
That growth implies ~ARS 281.2 bn of owner earnings in year 5 (vs ~ARS 1,106.9 bn of our base case). It recalculates if the DCF assumptions are edited.
Year-by-year model — bank (equity)
A bank is valued on equity (P/E × common earnings + price/tangible book), not EV: deposits and debt are funding. It returns capital via dividend + buyback —the buyback reduces the share count, so earnings per share grow faster than aggregate earnings—. Total return adds the dividend collected along the way. In edit mode, the metric, shares, dividend, and exit multiple can be adjusted.
| ARS bn / per share | TTM | +1a | +2a | +3a | +4a | +5a |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operation (editable: metric, shares) | ||||||
| Utilidad a comunes norm. (Ps. mil millones) | 628.1 | 716 | 809.1 | 906.2 | 1,005.9 | 1,106.5 |
| growth | — | +14% | +13% | +12% | +11% | +10% |
| ROTCE | 12.4% | 12.8% | 13.0% | 13.1% | 13.2% | 13.1% |
| Utilidad / certificado (ARS) | ARS 9,823.13 | ARS 11,197.84 | ARS 12,653.87 | ARS 14,172.46 | ARS 15,731.71 | ARS 17,305.04 |
| Shareholder return (dividend + buyback) | ||||||
| Dividend / share | 2,173.3 | 2,564.5 | 3,026.1 | 3,570.8 | 4,213.5 | 4,971.9 |
| Payout (div / metric) | 22% | 23% | 24% | 25% | 27% | 29% |
| Shares (M · buyback) | 63.941 | 63.941 | 63.941 | 63.941 | 63.941 | 63.941 |
| Valor tangible / certificado (ARS) | 79,006 | 87,638 | 97,267 | 107,870 | 119,387 | 131,716 |
| Multiples at today's price (equity, no EV) — how they compress | ||||||
| P/E (price / per share) | 10.8x | 9.5x | 8.4x | 7.5x | 6.7x | 6.1x |
| P/tangible book | 1.3x | 1.2x | 1.1x | 1.0x | 0.9x | 0.8x |
| Value curve (per share × P/E exit multiple by year) | ||||||
| Value / share | — | ARS 145,572 | ARS 164,500 | ARS 184,242 | ARS 196,646 | ARS 207,661 |
| Total return vs price | — | (+40%) | (+27%) | (+23%) | (+19%) | (+17%) |
Equity-level model: equity is valued by normalized earnings and a multiple, because at a bank deposits and negotiable obligations are funding for the business, not capital structure to be subtracted again. Year 0 is the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, not a rolling twelve-month window: under IAS 29 each filing restates the series to the currency of its own period-end, so chaining quarters from different filings mixes units of measure. All amounts are in pesos of December 2025, the currency in which the 20-F homogenizes the three fiscal years it presents. Year 0 for earnings is not the reported attributable net income of Ps. 289.5 billion: it is the normalized generating capacity of Ps. 628.1 billion, which comes from applying a return on equity of 12.0% —a ratio, neutral to the restatement unit— to closing equity of Ps. 5,234.5 billion. That 12.0% sits between the annualized return for the first half of 2026, near 11.3% on reported earnings, and the 14.3% the company itself reports for the second quarter excluding the restructuring charge; it is set above the half-year average because the trend within the half is upward —second-quarter earnings were 39% higher than the first quarter's, with the loss on monetary position easing as quarterly inflation fell from 9.44% to 6.77%— and below the adjusted quarterly figure because one quarter is not a trend. There is no numeric guidance: the August 19, 2026 press release publishes results and subsequent events, and includes no company-issued projections for the fiscal year; the gap is disclosed and the path is anchored to the reported quarterly results. The ADR count path is flat and identical across the three scenarios: the company reports no buyback program and only mentions 23,107 Class B shares in treasury. The conversion to dollars happens once, at the close of the cascade, at the ADR's implied parity, which represents ten Class B shares.
Today's multiple compresses on its own going forward as the metric per share grows (accelerated by the buyback, which reduces the share count). The exit multiple at 3 years is higher than the terminal at 5 years —at 3 years there is more growth still ahead—. Total return adds the dividend collected; the required return is applied to the base scenario.
Scenarios (bear / base / bull) — at 5 years
Value sensitivity
Value per share by growth scenario (rows) and the compression or expansion of the exit multiple (columns). The color shows whether it beats the required return.
| Growth ↓ / Multiple → | Compression−15% | Base multiple | Expansion+15% |
|---|---|---|---|
| AdverseThe 6.25% delinquency rate is not a peak but the level of a structurally riskier consumer portfolio: the provision for loan losses stays at the level of the first half of 2026 and return on tangible equity falls to 9.1% in year 1 —below the 12.4% normalized in year 0 and the 13.4% of the last reported quarter— and never exceeds 9.4% by year 5 · base 10.5 times earnings, the floor of the bank archetype's band | $68 0.9% | $80 3.8% | $92 6.5% |
| BaseThe cost of risk peaks within the year and eases as the consumer portfolio is cleaned up · base 12.0 times normalized earnings, just above the center of the band | $130 13.5% | $153 16.9% · base case | $176 20.0% |
| FavorableThe credit cycle turns quickly · base 14.0 times, near the top of the band | $199 22.8% | $234 26.7% | $270 30.1% |
Multiples — today
High today = growth is being paid for; they cheapen toward 3 and 5 years (see Projections).
Forward multiples
With today's price fixed and the metric growing, what multiple is being paid at 3 and 5 years. Today's high multiple is the price of growth: if the business grows, the entry multiple cheapens on its own.
Optionalities
They are valued separately, with their own rationale, and are not incorporated into the base or the verdict (they are excess return). When assigning them value — in Editmode —, the total with optionalities updates live, without moving the base.
The verdict, the base CAGR, and the margin of safety are always calculated on the base; optionalities do not alter them (with optionalities at $0 they do not move).
Maximum price to pay today — by required return
Each card fixes a required annual return and answers: if the business is worth $153 in 5 years, what is the maximum that can be paid today to obtain that return? Since it now trades at $78, the margin of safety is how much cheaper the market is than that maximum. The three thresholds: 4% covers inflation (the floor), 10% is the long-term average return, and 15% is the level of a great investment.
Return and margin of safety calculator
The maximum price to pay today to earn the required return, with the dividend collected as a separate flow. Both controls are editable.
With a target price of $153 in 5 years plus $14 of dividends collected (the dividend adds to the return, not to the price) and a required return of 4.5% annually, the maximum to pay today is $135. Against the current market price ($78), the margin of safety is 41.9% (trades below the maximum → there is margin) and the total return at that price would be 16.9% annually.
Valuation quality
- Entry multiple. The ADR trades at 13× on normalized earnings of Ps. 628.1 billion.
- Exit multiple. 12 times, just above the center of the archetype's 10-to-15 band and practically equal to the entry multiple: the return does not depend on a multiple expansion.
- Base quality. The base is normalized rather than reported: it rests on a 12.0% return on equity being sustainable, against 5.55% for the fiscal year and 13.4% for the latest quarter.
ROTCE vs the 10% bar — the bank's engine
The quality bar — return bands
The return on capital is judged against absolute bands; the value-creation floor is the market's opportunity cost (~10%). A stock's volatility does not measure business risk.
ROTCE 12% → good (10-15%). The bar is a measure of business quality, not the method's discount rate: value is discounted to today at the risk-free rate, and protection is required separately, as a margin of safety.
Quality — profitability and capital
- Cash generation. Operating cash flow for fiscal year 2025 was Ps. 555.2 billion against Ps. 2,633.8 in 2024: at a bank, that line is dominated by balance-sheet redeployment and does not measure generating capacity.
- Sustained return on capital. Normalized return on tangible equity is 12.4%, above the 10% bar but in the middle of the band, and the three-year reported series runs from 32.63% to 5.55%.
- Reinvestment runway. Capital surplus of Ps. 4.1 trillion over the requirement and system-wide private credit at 21.1% of GDP: there is capital and there is a market to put it in.
Revenue trajectory
Values in ARS bn. The % over each bar is the year-over-year (YoY) growth — each year, historical and projected, vs the prior one (the TTM vs the TTM from a year ago). The path comes from the same source as the table; years without their own series in the model are interpolated between the anchors. Historical solid, projection in a lighter shade.
Where the growth comes from · by driver
Weight in revenue and year-over-year (YoY) growth, in reported ARS.
The weights are each line's share of operating income before the provision for loan losses in fiscal year 2025, that is, Ps. 4,607.5 billion: net interest income Ps. 3,075.0, net fee income Ps. 767.4, fair value result Ps. 457.5, other operating income Ps. 282.1, and gold, currency and assets written off Ps. 25.5. The growth rates are not reported figures: they are the base case's decomposition, with fees growing above the margin because they do not depend on the interest rate, and the fair value result growing below because its level depends on the government-securities cycle. The net interest income rate (5.9%) was adjusted so the weighted growth of the set (6.4% real annually) reconciles with the projected net operating income before expenses line, which is already net of the provision for loan losses: it stays close to that line's own growth rate in its separate row (5.7%, from Ps. 3,075.0 to Ps. 4,050.0 between year 0 and year 5), and keeps the provision for loan losses from having to grow faster than revenue to close the account, which would contradict the stated assumption that the cost of risk peaks and eases.
Growth engine — operating drivers
Annual levels from the official filing (10-K); the % over each bar is the year-over-year (YoY) growth vs the prior year.
A bank's drivers are volume times spread: the loan portfolio multiplied by the intermediation margin, minus the cost of risk. At Banco Macro, the series that decides the result is not revenue growth but delinquency, which in two years rose from 1.06% to 4.08% in stage 3 and pushed the provision for loan losses to Ps. 538.4 billion. Regulatory capital measures the opposite: how much growth capacity remains unused, and the decline from 35.39% to 28.0% over three years is the surplus starting to be deployed. The two series of return and margin have to be read against disinflation, which compresses the inflationary component of the net interest margin without the business shrinking.
Projections
| Metric | FY23 | FY24 | FY25 | TTM | +1A | +2A | +3a | +4A | +5a |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net operating income before expenses | — | $8,151.6 bn | $6,045.2 bn (-26%) | $4,069.1 bn | $4,329.1 bn (+6%) | $4,605.7 bn (+6%) | $4,900 bn (+6%) | $5,214.9 bn (+6%) | $5,550 bn (+6%) |
Net interest income | — | — | $2,128.7 bn | $3,075 bn | $3,246.9 bn (+6%) | $3,428.4 bn (+6%) | $3,620 bn (+6%) | $3,829 bn (+6%) | $4,050 bn (+6%) |
Net income to common | — | — | $428.2 bn | $628.1 bn | $709.7 bn (+13%) | $802 bn (+13%) | $906.2 bn (+13%) | $1,001.4 bn (+11%) | $1,106.5 bn (+11%) |
Tangible equity of the parent | — | $5,624.9 bn | $5,134.7 bn (-9%) | $5,051.7 bn | $5,604.2 bn (+11%) | $6,217.2 bn (+11%) | $6,897.2 bn (+11%) | $7,621.7 bn (+11%) | $8,422.3 bn (+11%) |
The % are the annual (year-over-year) growth: each year —historical and projected— vs the prior one; the TTM (trailing 12m) vs the TTM of a year ago, to avoid overlapping windows. The historicals are exact figures from the official filings; the projected years come from the year-by-year model (the intermediate years without their own series are interpolated between the anchors). The projected columns (+1y…+5y) are 12-month windows counted from the TTM close (31-dic-2025): the projection starts from the most recently reported data, not the fiscal year. The projected base is realistic and unbiased — the risk discount is applied at the end, via the required return. The rationale for each metric is in the (i).
Growth quality
- Balance-sheet growth. Total financing fell 5% real year over year to Ps. 11.69 trillion, though it rose 3% in the quarter; deposits rose 4% year over year.
- Market deepening. System-wide private credit rose from 19.3% to 21.1% of GDP in a year, from very low levels.
- Earnings growth. Net operating income before expenses fell for two consecutive years in real terms due to disinflation; the latest quarter's figure is already growing 1% year over year.
Moat strength
The business and its moat
What it does and how it makes money
The bank monetizes through three channels. The first and dominant one is the intermediation spread: net interest income for fiscal year 2025 was Ps. 3,075.0 billion, two-thirds of operating income before provisions, and comes from lending to individuals and companies —personal loans, credit cards, overdrafts, mortgage and auto loans, foreign-trade financing— against a deposit base of which 45% are low-cost transactional accounts that do not react to rate increases. The second is service fee income, with Ps. 767.4 billion net for the year: account maintenance, debit and credit cards, collections, payments to suppliers, payroll services and financial agency services. The third is the trading desk and asset management, through Macro Securities, Macro Fondos and the other subsidiaries, all of a financial nature.
The balance sheet has a fourth engine that is not intermediation and carries weight: public-sector assets equaled 25.9% of total assets at the close of the second quarter of 2026, and interest on government and private securities contributed Ps. 479.0 billion in that quarter alone —Ps. 597.3 billion if the result from fair value and from other comprehensive income on equity instruments is added—. It is real profitability, but it is sovereign risk in the form of financial income, and the filing itself states so.
Scale and competitive position
The physical network is the structural asset: 402 branches and 8,180 employees at the close of the second quarter of 2026, across 23 of Argentina's 24 provinces, after closing 89 branches and cutting headcount 8% in a year under the restructuring plan. 90% of branches are located outside the City of Buenos Aires and 61% of the network is concentrated in six provinces —Santa Fe, Córdoba, Misiones, Salta, Tucumán and Jujuy—, where the bank reaches branch shares of 54.2% in Salta, 50.0% in Jujuy, 47.6% in Misiones and 45.6% in Tucumán, well above its national presence.
The balance sheet is the other axis of scale: Ps. 14.74 trillion of deposits and Ps. 11.69 trillion of total financing at the close of the second quarter of 2026, with liquid assets of Ps. 10.98 trillion equal to 74% of deposits and leverage of just 4.1 times equity. System-wide private credit rose from 19.3% to 21.1% of GDP between December 2024 and December 2025: the market remains very underbanked, and that is the real growth runway for the balance sheet.
The moat: why it is hard to compete
The most concrete barrier is not scale but a set of contracts: the bank is the exclusive financial agent for four provinces —Salta, Jujuy, Misiones and Tucumán— with staggered expirations between 2026 and 2034. That gives it provincial public funds, the payroll accounts of state employees in those jurisdictions, and a captive, low-cost depositor base, precisely in the provinces where it already has half of its branches.
The second barrier is regulatory and geographic at once. The Labor Contract Law requires wages to be deposited into an account within a two-kilometer radius of the workplace in urban areas and ten kilometers in rural areas, which anchors the customer in favor of the bank with a physical presence in each locality. And the Central Bank requires a license, minimum capital and prior approval to open or modify branches and ATMs, for mergers and for changes of control: a new entrant cannot replicate that network in a few years. The third is capital slack, with a surplus of Ps. 4.1 trillion over the requirement, which allows the loan portfolio to grow without issuing capital.
Moat direction and threats
Direction is rated as stable rather than widening, and the reason is the unit-economics test: total financing fell 5% real year over year, the net interest margin dropped from 25.3% to 24.0% between quarters, and return on equity for fiscal year 2025 was 5.55% against 32.63% two years earlier. There is no evidence of a per-unit profitability gap opening up against competitors; there is a wide franchise weathering a bad cycle, which is a different thing.
There are three threats. The deterioration of consumer credit, with that portfolio's delinquency at 8.42% and coverage of the non-performing portfolio already below 100%. The structural compression of the intermediation spread as disinflation strips the inflationary component out of the margin and digital wallets and banks lower the retail customer's cost of leaving. And the staggered expiration of the provincial financial agency contracts, which are renewable but not automatic and concentrate precisely the most defensible part of funding.
Business / sector quality
- Recurrence and predictability. Deposit base of Ps. 13,690.6 billion and 6.36 million retail customers; the business is recurring but earnings are highly sensitive to the local macroeconomic cycle.
- Differentiated product. Credit and deposits are undifferentiated products; differentiation comes from the provincial network and the exclusive financial agency contracts.
- Pricing power. Limited and declining: the net interest margin fell from 25.3% to 24.0% between the first and second quarters of 2026, and disinflation structurally compresses the spread.
- Operating leverage. The efficiency ratio stood at 33.9%, the same as a year earlier, despite closing 89 branches and cutting headcount 8%: the savings have not yet reached earnings.
- Behavior in a downturn. Weak: return on equity fell from 32.63% to 5.55% over two fiscal years, with delinquency tripling.
Capital adequacy (CET1)
CET1 of 28.0% vs the regulatory requirement with buffers of 8.0% → +20.0pp of excess: room to absorb stress and return capital (dividend + buybacks).
Credit quality
Under CECL the reserve anticipates the expected losses over the entire life of the loan; the charge-offs are the losses already realized. A low charge-off rate (~0.7%) versus the through-cycle rate (~1%) indicates a healthy loan book — but it is a point in the cycle, not a permanent floor.
Company health / solvency
- ✓Capital adequacy (CET1)CET1 28.0% (+20.0pp above the minimum)
- ✓Reserve coverage (allowance / loan book)6.07% of the loan book
- !Value creation (ROTCE − 10% bar)+2pp
- ✓Funding (deposit base)Deposits $13,690.6 bn
A traffic-light interpreted by the method (not generic): float (negative WC) adds up, capex is judged by incremental ROIC (malinvestment test), and a lender is not subjected to corporate solvency. The (i) shows the derivation of each number.
ⓘ Has a loan book: credit health (delinquency, coverage, normalized CECL, RoA/RoE) is evaluated separately, not with corporate solvency.
Health — balance sheet risks
- Capital. Capital adequacy ratio of 28% and Tier 1 capital of 28% against a reference minimum of 8%, with a surplus of Ps. 4.1 trillion.
- Liquidity. Liquid assets of Ps. 10.98 trillion, equal to 74% of deposits, and leverage of 4.1 times equity.
- Portfolio quality. Delinquency of 6.25% on total financing and 8.42% in consumer, with coverage of the non-performing portfolio at 95.39%, below 100%.
- Funding concentration. Deposits are 76% of total liabilities and 45% of them are low-cost transactional accounts insensitive to rate.
Who runs it
- Ongoing restructuring plan: a Ps. 90,302.6 million (82%) increase in compensation and bonuses for early retirements and severance, within a net increase in employee benefits of Ps. 28,882.9 million in fiscal year 2025, plus Ps. 21.9 billion more in the second quarter of 2026, with 89 branches closed and headcount 8% lower in a year.
- Acquisition of Banco Itaú Argentina from Itaú Unibanco in 2023, merged into Banco Macro in November 2024, together with its asset management and brokerage units.
- Acquisition consummated on January 22, 2026: the bank acquired 50% of the capital and voting rights of Micro Sistemas S.A.U., operator of the Personal Pay digital wallet, for US$75,000,000.
- Agreement dated March 20, 2026, together with Fintech Digital LLC, for the joint acquisition of 100% of Banco Sáenz S.A. for shareholders' equity to be determined before closing plus US$2,000,000, subject to conditions precedent and approval by the Central Bank.
- Distribution of Ps. 138,956.5 million approved on April 8, 2026 against the discretionary reserve fund, paid in three equal monthly installments between May and July 2026.
Capital allocation — indicators
Sources and uses of cash
How cash comes in and how it is deployed. In green, the business's own cash (the owner-FCF it generates and reinvests); in gray, the float and credit — customer and funding money, which is not the shareholder's.
The bank funds itself with its own earnings: deposits, negotiable obligations and subordinated debt are operating funding, not shareholder capital. The distribution approved in April 2026 was Ps. 138,956.5 million, paid in three equal monthly installments between May and July 2026. Against reported fiscal year 2025 income that is a payout ratio of 47.80%, the figure the 20-F itself publishes alongside 92.27% in 2024 and 50.05% in 2023; against normalized earnings of Ps. 628.1 billion it equals around 22%, and it is this latter figure that forms the basis on which retention is modeled going forward. The stated assumption is that the bank does not raise the dividend in the same proportion as earnings are normalized, subject to approval by resolution and in the monthly installments the Central Bank requires. There is no buyback program: the company only mentions 23,107 Class B shares in treasury, within the legal 10% limit. The two 2026 transactions have a published price —US$75,000,000 for Micro Sistemas, already disbursed, and shareholders' equity to be determined plus US$2,000,000 for Banco Sáenz, pending approval— but they fall outside the window of the year-0 capital allocation cascade and are not assigned a share of the projected payout.
Shares — ownership and dilution
Who owns the shares — the alignment and whether there is a controlling shareholder.
Management / capital allocation
- Alignment. The significant shareholders have effective control through a guarantee trust and an individual holding; the percentage breakdown was not incorporated and is disclosed as a gap.
- Capital allocation. Track record of growth by acquisition —provincial privatizations, Banco Itaú Argentina— and two new transactions in 2026 subject to regulatory approval, with the price of one of them not disclosed.
- Return of capital. No buyback program; only 23,107 Class B shares in treasury. The Ps. 138,956.5 million distribution approved in April 2026 was paid in full in three installments between May and July.
- Candor. The press release explicitly separates the restructuring charges and publishes the adjusted and reported returns separately, along with the two delinquency definitions.
Why it is cheap
- Motivated seller from earnings that fell short: return on equity for fiscal year 2025 was 5.55% against 32.63% two years earlier, and the result carries Ps. 538.4 billion of provision for loan losses and a Ps. 90,302.6 million increase in compensation and bonuses for early retirements and severance, two line items that sink the accounting result without destroying the franchise.
- Missing buyers by domicile and by accounting: a company that operates entirely in Argentina trades in New York, with inflation-adjusted restated statements that make figures across different filings incomparable and discourage coverage.
- There is an ongoing corporate transaction, but it does not anchor the price the way a merger absorbing the issuer would: on March 20, 2026, the bank agreed together with Fintech Digital LLC to acquire 100% of Banco Sáenz S.A., subject to Central Bank approval, with Banco Macro as the buyer and not the target. There is no guidance cut —the company publishes no guidance— nor any contingency disclosed in the documents reviewed.
- The last reported quarter shows earnings 39% above the prior one, with the loss on monetary position easing as quarterly inflation fell from 9.44% to 6.77%, and a return on equity of 13.4% reported and 14.3% adjusted that is already well above the 5.55% for the fiscal year.
The discount has an identifiable positive source —reported earnings collapsed due to two separable line items— and at the same time a warning: portfolio deterioration is real and has not yet visibly peaked, with delinquency rising from 5.40% to 6.25% within the second quarter itself. The opportunity, if it exists, is that the market may be extrapolating the peak in the cost of risk and the accounting compression of the margin as if both were permanent.
Return asymmetry — risk/reward
The annual return (CAGR at 5 years) in each scenario, with the total period return below — the margin of safety made visual: upside range wide, downside range narrow.
Even in the bear scenario, the return holds at +4%/year (+21% total): the margin of safety protects the downside. The bull (+27%/year, +226% total) exceeds it comfortably — a favorable asymmetry, with a narrow downside range and a wide upside range.
Bear case — disconfirmation
- The 6.25% delinquency rate on total financing is not a peak but the steady-state level of a retail portfolio that grew fast: the consumer figure reached 8.42% and rose 150 basis points in a single quarter, so the provision for loan losses does not ease and the normalized earnings of Ps. 628.1 billion never materialize.
- Coverage of the non-performing portfolio is 95.39%, below 100%: every additional peso of delinquency requires new provisioning, so the charge cannot fall while delinquency rises.
- Public-sector assets equal 25.9% of total assets: a sovereign credit event or a public debt restructuring hits capital directly, not just the period's earnings.
- Disinflation could compress the net interest margin more than assumed: the net interest margin already fell from 25.3% to 24.0% between the first and second quarters of 2026, and total financing fell 5% real year over year.
- The financial agency contracts with Salta, Jujuy, Misiones and Tucumán expire on a staggered basis starting in 2026: losing any one of them takes away cheap funding, payroll accounts and the rationale for the provincial network all at once.
- A real devaluation of the peso reduces the dollar value of the ADR even if the peso business performs well, and the filing states that exchange controls could be reimposed.
Bull case — the thesis for
- Second-quarter 2026 earnings were 39% higher than the first quarter's and return on equity rose to 13.4% reported and 14.3% excluding restructuring charges, against 5.55% for the full fiscal year.
- The Ps. 4.1 trillion capital surplus over a requirement of Ps. 1.69 trillion, with leverage of just 4.1 times equity, allows the loan portfolio to more than double without issuing capital: the company itself states that its goal is to put that surplus to its best use.
- System-wide private credit rose from 19.3% to 21.1% of GDP in a year and remains well below the region: the real growth runway for the balance sheet is long if the macroeconomy stabilizes.
- The provision for loan losses in the second quarter of 2026 was 24% lower than in the first, the first sequential sign that the credit cycle may have peaked.
- The restructuring plan has already closed 89 branches and cut headcount 8% in a year, and the structural savings have not yet shown up in the efficiency ratio, which remains at 33.9%: the payoff from charges already paid is still ahead.
- Liquidity is high and does not compete with credit: liquid assets equal 74% of deposits, so loan portfolio growth does not require raising new funding.
Risks — what breaks the base case
- Sovereign risk. Public-sector assets equal 25.9% of total assets, and the filing states that income generation depends on the public sector's ability to repay.
- Credit cycle. Delinquency tripled in a year and rose 85 basis points within the second quarter of 2026 itself.
- Currency and exchange controls. The business generates pesos and the ADR is priced in dollars; the filing states that controls could be reimposed, including the forced conversion of dollar-denominated obligations into pesos.
- Corporate governance. The significant shareholders can decide the board, mergers, issuances and dividend policy without agreement from the rest.
- Provincial contract expirations. The financial agency agreements with four provinces expire on a staggered basis between 2026 and 2034 and are renewable but not automatic.
Lenses — the value investing thinkers
Each thinker's analytical framework applied to our data.
Full alignment: both the business and the price work in your favor.
- Buffett / Graham Quality + margin of safety
A narrow moat and ROTCE 12% above the 10% bar, with a +42% margin → a quality business at a good price.
- Peter Lynch Growth at a reasonable price (GARP)
A fast grower growing 12% at a PEG of 1.1 → cheap for its growth.
- Joel Greenblatt Cheap and high-return (Magic Formula)
Not applicable — the Magic Formula excludes financials and regulated businesses (EBIT/EV does not capture the operating leverage).
- Howard Marks Perception vs reality + cycle
The price discounts -15% vs our 12%: perception is more pessimistic than reality, with an identified source of the discount.
- Seth Klarman Capital protection (bear scenario)
Bear-scenario floor +0%/yr, bull-scenario ceiling +25%/yr over 5y and a +42% margin → capital protected, asymmetry in your favor.
- Pat Dorsey Moat strength (Five Rules)
A narrow moat, stable; sources: efficient scale, cost advantage, switching costs, intangibles → partially passes the Five Rules.
- Aswath Damodaran Expectations implied by the price
Justifying the price requires discounting -15%, within what we project (12%) — the story squares with the numbers.





